Posted in Rabbit Hole

Rabbit Hole 1/16/17

Sorry for the lateness, but I was staffing a retreat sans internet at my camp over the weekend and didn’t get a chance to submit my rabbit hole before I left Thursday.

Anyway, for my rabbit hole this week I looked into color psychology and its most common uses. I knew to some extent that colors were used in advertising and such to send subliminal messages, but I didn’t know about its many other uses. They can be used to make placebos more effective, where red and orange pills are used as stimulants and “cool-colored” are used as depressants. Furthermore, in terms of emotional responses, colors like red, orange, and yellow evoke more energetic responses from the brain, like anger, joy, or excitement. On the other hand, cool colors like green, blue, and purple, evoke more calm emotions, like balance, tranquility, and creativity. I find this all very interesting, but there’s one question that I couldn’t seem to find a straight answer to.

What happens when you start moving past primary and secondary colors? Does a perfect turquoise between blue and green evoke a mix of the two feelings or both or does the theory of color psychology only apply certainly to primary and secondary colors? I hope to see if I can find some theories on these questions in the future, but as of now, it seems like they are questions that will go unanswered.

Leave a Reply

