Posted in Reader's Responses

Craft of Research Response IV

After reading this section, I think that, when applied to my thesis, I will be using both primary and secondary sources in my research. I’ve already looked at some of Aristotle’s work with the concept of infinity, which, if I’m not mistaken, would be a primary source. Furthermore, one of the books I’m looking at, A History of Western Philosophy, would be considered a secondary source as I analyzes a lot of teachings from the ancient philosophers. All of my other sources at the moment are from the databases linked through our library’s page, which cover a wide range of topics.

In terms of the philosophical and theological side of my thesis, I’m not sure what experts I have access to. Like I said in another blog, Coach Anderson recommended a friend of his for the mathematics of infinity, but I’m not focusing on that lens of research for my actual thesis. My dad can probably link me to some theologians through his work, and I’m sure he himself has some valuable information that is applicable to my research.

One part of this reading I found intriguing was the part about looking beyond “predictable” sources. The idea of looking at plays when studying economy, as the book says, seems reasonable once it is suggested, but I don’t know that I would have ever come up with that on my own. It makes me wonder what sort of “unpredictable” sources might exist for my own research.

Leave a Reply

