Posted in Vault Time

Vault Week 4

Over spring break, I opted for a couple of extended vault sessions in CC’s in the earlier portion of the week. While I did find and analyze some new sources, a good portion of my time was also dedicated to putting all of my information down into a gingko tree to connect it all in a way that I could see. Though it was originally just a plan to organize my thoughts, I ended up finding some connections that I’ve never seen before. I think the one most relevant to my thesis is the subjectivity of art as it relates to the individualistic philosophy of existentialism. I think the argument that art is a fitting medium for existential concepts because it is such an individualized form of expression could end up being a claim or subclaim in my actual thesis.

In terms of actual research, I followed the same path I’ve been on looking at how art affects the stress response in the body and how existential ideas occur in artistic forms. With the last couple of days of my vault time this upcoming week, I’m going to try and take a look at some specific examples of existential artwork and analyze how they affect both their creators and viewers.

Leave a Reply

